Posted by: Jennifer | September 10, 2008

My goal

I have been wanting to start a breastfeeding blog for a while now and I am finally getting down to it.  I read a lot and there is much information out there on the internet so I have been playing around with a focus.  I would like to discuss various topics about breastfeeding although I will attempt to post relevant news articles that people may be interested in reading (I find that news articles are often posted on other blogs so I don’t think that it will be my specific area).

Some of the things I want to discuss and topics that I am planning are:

  • breastfeeding and society
  • breastfeeding after a c-section
  • the main breastfeeding issues and how they can be rectified
  • how the health care system in Canada can improve to help mothers and infants
  • extended breastfeeding
  • baby led solids

As time goes on, I will add to the list and add to this blog.  As I have mentioned before, this is a work in progress.

I would also like to take the time to introduce myself.  I am a Canadian mother of two children, a girl who is 5 and a boy who is 10 1/2 months.  I breastfed my daughter until she turned three and I am currently bfing my son, almost exclusively, save for some solids.  With respect to introducing my son to solids, my husband and I practice a baby led approach.  We do not use (although we have in moments of weakness – more on that in another post) commercially prepared baby food, in particular cereals.  We boycott all Nestle baby foods on principle. 

My children co-sleep.  My daughter has her own room and her own bed and has been sleeping there since she turned five, however it is not uncommon for her to fall asleep in our bed or end up in our bed in the morning.  My son has co-slept since day one.  I find co-sleeping to be an exceptionally important part of breastfeeding and a good breastfeeding relationship and it helps to foster a strong attachment.  As a mother who works outside of the home (after the one year mat leave is up), I find that I am with my children more both physically and emotionally when I co-sleep.

I wear my baby.  My son has gone from the New Native Baby Carrier to the Ergo fairly seamlessly.  Although I have small Esprit stroller, I rarely use it and choose the Ergo as the primary means of carrying my son around.  I wish I had discovered baby wearing with my daughter as I spent a lot of time carrying her while pushing the huge Peg Perego around.  One really great benefit of the Ergo is that I can exercise with my son on my back and carrying around a growing baby while going for power walks is great exercise.  My son loves to look around and knows that he is safe and close to mom at all times.

I don’t use Cry It Out (CIO) or any method of sleep training.  I strongly believe in the “power of a baby’s cries” and I see no reason to “train” a baby to sleep.  I have had a lot of sleepless nights walking around, gently soothing my kids to sleep, but I would not trade that in for anything.

I use gentle discipline.  I feel like I am an active observer in the life of my children.  My role is to help them, and gently guide them through life.  I don’t believe in spanking or using harsh methods of punishment.  I believe that teaching by example, setting age appropriate boundaries, and redirecting and using natural consequences works the best and shows the most respect to my children.

I don’t use confining toys like playpens or exercausers.  I have found that the simplest toys seem to be the ones that kids like the best (an old kleenex box, some paper and crayons).

We delay and selectively vax.  This is an area that I feel very uncomfortable with from both angles and I try to learn as much as I can.

I love being a mother.  I love my children.  I feel like I am constantly learning on this journey through motherhood.

My next topic that I am working on will be about breastfeeding and society and I am looking forward to putting pen to paper (fingers to keyboard) to get my many thoughts out!

Responses

  1. Hi there! Looking forward to reading your many thoughts 🙂

  2. Thank-you! I just checked out your blog and it looks fantastic, I can’t wait to read!

  3. I really enjoyed reading your blog. It’s fantastic! BTW, what you are doing I agree with 100%. You go girl!

  4. Thanks! I’m glad you checked it out!

  5. I have a question for you. which vacinnations did you delay (all of them?) and at what age did you start to selectively vaccinate and which did you choose? I’m just curious because I have delayed vaccinating but am now trying to decide whether I should get some vaccinations & if so, which ones. also, there has also been a lot of pressure to vaccinate from my pediatrician. any advice is appreciated. thanks.

  6. Laura,

    I pretty much delayed all vaccines (particularly with my daughter who was born two months premature) but also with my son. I delayed anywhere from a few months to a year (so not too long). I waited until after two to do the MMR.

    I opted out of menjugate, prevnar, Hep B, and the chicken pox vaccine.

    What are you thinking?

  7. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.


Leave a Reply

Categories

