Posted by: Jennifer | September 7, 2008

Disturbia

Throw on your break lights,
We’re in the city of wonder.
Ain’t gonna play nice,
Watch out, you might just go under.
Better think twice,
Your train of thought will be altered,
So if you must faulter be wise.
Your mind’s in disturbia,
It’s like the darkness is the light, disturbia.
Am I scaring you tonight, disturbia.
Ain’t used to what you like, disturbia.

-Disturbia, Rihanna

I sent out an email a few months ago to parents on my email list regarding the dinner that Nestle had been planning in British Columbia.  I received an email back from one of the people on my list, a colleague with a young child, stating that she found my email offensive and judgemental.

This is my email:

Hello fellow parents,
 
I received this information from a yahoo attachment parenting group that I belong to.  Nestle is once again violating the WHO code which is endorsed in British Columbia, by giving a talk on infant feeding practices.  Nestle is a notorious violator of the code and they need to be stopped.  As most of you know, I boycott all Nestle baby products on principle and try to boycott other Nestle products as well. 
 
I will be sending a short email to owennie.lee@ca.nestle.com to let her know my disappointment in this clear violation of the code (a formula company should not be giving financial or material incentives to promote their products as per article 7.3 of the code).  Giving a talk to health care professionals on infant feeding is not within the scope of the code, particularly since they are giving away wine and food.  Talks like these hinder health care professionals ability to give correct care to new mothers and babies where it pertains to infant feeding.
 
Thanks for reading and if you are interesting in more information on the Nestle Boycott check out:  http://www.babymilkaction.org/pages/boycott.html and http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nestl%C3%A9_boycott
 
Just for the record, formula saves lives, and we are lucky to live in a time when there is a breast milk substitute available to help babies who have mothers who cannot breastfeed for whatever reason.  This does not mean that these companies should aggressively market their products, and give talks on feeding infants to the public and to health care professionals.  They are for-profit companies marketing a product and obviously their objective is to sell that product, not to give unbiased information on infant feeding.  That is what upsets me the most.

I feel that I live in a society where parents who breastfeed must tiptoe around, not talk about breastfeeding in any way for fear of inadvertently insulting, offending or judging someone who does not.  However, it is completely fine to make comments to breastfeeders on a regular basis such as “how long do you plan to do that for”, “isn’t it time to cut the cord”, etc, etc, etc. 

Am I frustrated?  Yes.  Do I want to harbour my frustration into something more positive?  Absolutely.

And so I will try.

Responses

  1. Offensive and judgemental? Not at all. I think it was well written.

    What is this Nestle dinner about?

  2. Thank-you! I am actually in awe of the fact that someone found my little blog (a big work in progress right now)!

    In June 2008, Nestle had planned a “wine and dine” for health care professionals in British Columbia. They were going to discuss infant feeding and provide information to doctors, nurses, etc.

    A lot of people protested and eventually the dinner was cancelled!

  3. I found the blog through the wordpress Tag surfer. Great way to find posts on topics that I’m interested in and interact with like-minded moms.


Leave a Reply

Categories

